For specialized inquiries, please contact these staff members directly.


Dean's office--Kyle Mcjunkin

Chief Financial Officer--Jesse Cano

Accounting Supervisor--Jennie Molina

Admissions, enrollment, recruiting--Zoe Ashmead

AV/LIve stream/performance/recording--Luis Henao  and  Loren Nerell.  Loren also provides Omnilock access to certain rooms

Building Facilities and Management--TBD.  Contact operations assistant Virginia Pettis.

Communications/PR/website--Ariane Bicho

Development and External Affairs--Ava Sadripour

Ethnomusicology Chair's Assistant and Website Manager (jazz, pop, rock, world musics)--Donna Armstrong

Events--please check website at Events Listing (no events during summer)

Instructor and Performer requests--Please check website at this link.

Library requests/donations (books, records, etc.)--use this email link.

Monk Institute--Daniel Seeff or Lindsey Kunisaki

Music Department Chair's Assistant and Website Manager (western classical music)--Alix Von Bosen

Musicology Chair's Assistant and Website Manager (Music History, performance studies)--Emily Spitz

Academic Personnel--Sandra Topete

Staff Personnel--Barry Cautivar

Public Events Manager (Theaters)--TBD

Room requests (non-theater and non-course related)--Virginia Pettis

Student Services/student advising:  Brenda Galvez (Ethnomusicology students) and Allison Taka (Music students).  Emily Spitz (Musicology and Music Industry students)


Music Department Chair Neal Stulberg has today announced the winners of this year's Atwater Kent Concerto Competitions.  The results are:

For Piano:

The winner of the 2017 Atwater Kent Piano Concerto Competition is Wan Wong, who will be playing the Mozart Piano Concerto No. 26 in B flat, K. 595 with UCLA Philharmonia at our 8 PM Thursday, June 8, 2017 concert.

First Alternate:  Xiao Chen (Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 in E flat, Op. 73 “Emperor")

Our adjudicators were Bernadine Blaha (Professor of Piano, USC), Edith Orloff (member of the Pacific Trio) and Dmitry Rachmanov (Professor Piano, Cal State Northridge).

Adjudicator comments (without attribution) will be sent to each of the auditioners.

For Brass, Percussion, and Winds:

The winner of the 2017 Atwater Kent Winds/Brass/Percussion Concerto Competition is second-year Masters flutist Anastasia Petanova, who will be playing the Pied Piper Fantasy by John Corigliano with the UCLA Philharmonia Thursday evening, June 8, 2017 at Schoenberg Hall.

Two auditioners were designated as Honorable Mention:  Hin Yau (Tomasi Trombone Concerto) and Devan Jaquez (Ibert Flute Concerto).

Our adjudicators were Whitney Crockett (Los Angeles Philharmonic principal bassoon since 2010) and Ralph Sauer (Los Angeles Philharmonic principal trombone from 1974 to 2006).   

The Chair noted that adjudicator comments (without attribution) will be sent to each of the auditioners.
The Chair expressed congratulations and thanks to all who participated.  The performance level was extremely high!

Great news for the Department of Music--

It has just been announced that LA Opera's production of "Ghosts of Versaille," a production from 2015 by John Corigliano and conducted by James Conlon, has just won two Grammy Awards.  UCLA Professor of Percussion Theresa Dimond and Professor of Violin Movses Pogossian performed with the orchestra for this opera, and Joshua Guerrero, one of Opera UCLA's alumni, was a member of the cast.

For more information, please CLICK HERE for the Los Angeles Times article.

Patricia Racette as Marie Antoinette in Los Angeles Opera's 2015 production of John Corigliano's "The Ghosts of Versailles" at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion. (Lawrence K. Ho / Los Angeles Times)

It has just been announced that UCLA vocal studies major, baritone Ben Lowe, has won first prize in the prestigious Song Competition of the Music Academy of the West, under the direction of Marilyn Horne.  At the competition, held on August 4th, Ben performed Tosti's L'Ultima Canzone, Schumann's Mondnacht and Barber's I hear an Army, for which it was reported that the audience responded with applause and bravos that went on forever.  Congratulations, Ben!

The Academy's website, with more information about the competition, can be found HERE.